The Sutler Saloon

Yesterday, I joined my friends Ashley and Emily for Bluegrass Brunch at The Sutler Saloon in the Melrose neighborhood. I’ve been wanting to hit this place up for over a year and finally got the chance…definitely worth the wait. 

First thing, plan your trip here in advance. This place will fill up quick so you need to arrive EARLY. Brunch starts at 10 a.m., so I would recommend getting there at 9:45 a.m. We did and there was only about six people ahead of us. By the time the doors opened, the line was down the sidewalk.

IMG_0513

Once we sat down, it was all about the drink specials. The Sutler offers Bottomless Mimosas for $15. Quite a deal when you factor in ONE mimosa is $7. This would usually be the drink of choice for my group but not this time.

The temperature outside was in the 90’s with crazy humidity so we went for a pitcher of Black Cherry Sangria for $19. Absolutely delicious!

Honestly, I could have stayed there all day and drank sangrias but… as always… food is vital. While we waited for our drinks, they brought by some mini biscuits with jam. YUM!

IMG_0514

We all ordered different dishes and they were all outstanding. Ashley, left, ordered the classic breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, potato hash and a biscuit. Emily had the chicken & waffles. The cheddar-scallion cornbread waffle was out of this world! I ordered French Toast (big surprise, I know haha) with a side of bacon. The sweet cream filling and blueberry syrup… mind-blowing.

The atmosphere of the saloon only added to the experience. The band playing was LaTresa & the Signal. I was wondering if the music would overpower the conversation at the table but it was just right. You could hear someone speaking and enjoy the music at the same time. A perfect combination!

As we walked out the door, the place was packed with people waiting outside. I don’t blame them since our experience was incredible. I highly recommend The Sutler Saloon, especially the Bluegrass Brunch. Outstanding food, great drink specials and killer atmosphere. I know I’ll be back very soon!

Leave a Reply

